Inspiration…and something a little bit different…

So its Wednesday already! How did that happen?

I had a visit from a crafting friend today – the very lovely and talented Karen Eaglesham – you can visit her blog here.  We chatted about the usual: children, school, husbands, politics and of course crafting. After Karen had left I was inspired to try something different – Karen and I have different crafting styles, Karen is very inspirational and imaginative and I tend to play safe and simple. So this is what I came up with – in part because I ‘discovered’ some products that I simply hadn’t used and played with yet – how did that happen? – and  in part because I thought it would be good to try to step outside of my comfort zone, even for the teensiest moment and try something else.

Different Chic?

 

So how did I make it? I really fancied a red, white and blue colour theme but felt that it lacked something until I teamed it with the kraft card back ground, which then seemed pretty bare until I used my roller to stamp the baroque stye text – yes it is upside down but I intended it that way – honest I did! I punched real red card and stamped the Notably Ornate stamp from Stampin’ Up in white on night of navy card stock. The rosette is made using some Tim Holtz tissue tape and its hunkered down with a metallic eyelet that had been knocking around my desk for a while. The ribbon is the deliciously sumptuous satin ribbon from Stampin’ Up. I then punched out the swirls in real red and added the words using a tiny scrap of whisper white that was lying around. In fact I used several ‘scraps’ up on this card but sadly I still have a very large pile of scraps to work through!                    I think in the not too distant future I ought to try to make a set of cards using only scraps from my desk and scrap box – maybe we should have it as a challenge?  What do you think?  We will revisit this idea again I think.

Righty o, time for bed as I am back to  my day job tomorrow – so till next time ….don’t forget to stamp your place in the world!

Leave a Reply

