MIA, Paleo Man, Subscribing and Cards…finally!

My apologies for being Missing In Action this week. I succumbed to a rather nasty sinus infection which has now settled on my chest. Again. Yep. I know – I have had quite a few colds and infections recently. Having chatted with the Doc I find that I am badly anaemic and potentially suffering Coeliac disease. This is interesting since most of my meals consist of gluten in some form: bagel for breakfast and/or lunch, pasta, rice etc. It seems the anaemia makes me weak (!) and the (potential) Coeliacs prevents my stomach from absorbing the goodness and vitamins from my food – hence the anaemia and susceptibility to everything thats going. This time I have been laid pretty low spending pretty much all my time asleep as I felt too weak to do much else. On top of this my youngest now has Mumps. The big one came home from Uni telling tales of how people had Mumps at Uni and I assured him that he would be OK as he had had the MMR and his boosters: he was vaccinated up! The very next week he looked like a Squirrel who had just remembered where he had put his winter store and its now spring! Monday the youngest got up and said his jaw was hurting. I did the usual Mum thing: ‘You two been messing around again?’ On closer inspection however I realised that this poor boy was beginning to resemble a cast off from a Rocky movie with his swollen face and square jaw! He is loving the jelly and ice-cream though!

So…Back to anaemia and Coeliacs. I am so fed up of feeling unwell that I have decided to take a drastic measure with my health and make serious changes to my diet – I don’t eat badly, we never have processed/package foods but realistically, we can do better! A colleague at work has been banging on about the ‘diet’ he follows. He is a very healthy looking lad with muscles all over the place. I had a chat with him and he pointed me in the direction of The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf. Basically it is about eating like our Paleo ancestors – who were apparently as healthy as our present day Olympian athletes – I am up for that! – even if they had shorter lives (due to nasty animals etc). Whilst Robb does suggest that you will lose weight – I am up for that too! – he advocates a general ‘feeling better’ health wise and challenges you to give his way a go for thirty days. Go check it out and I will keep you posted whilst I do my thirty days to see if I do feel better – lets face it – I cannot feel worse than I have been lately! And no – to the Gods in heaven above – that is not a challenge thank you!

DID YOU KNOW…you can subscribe to my blog? If you look at the very top of the page and to the right there is a bit where you can subscribe and follow my blog – if you want to that is….and of course if you want to find out how my Paleo thirty days is going this would be a great way to follow and keep up to date. Go on…subscribe – you know you want to….

And finally…..I havent actually felt like doing much crafting this week – now you know how really poorly I have felt! However, I did have some stuff I had intended posting right before I hit my low point. So here they are:

Classy Crumb Cake

This is SU Style Beautiful stamp set from the 2010/2011 Idea Book and Catalogue, Crumb Cake, Very Vanilla and Soft Suede CS, and Chocolate Chip Ink finished with a few pearls and gold embossing powder – I love the simplicity of this.

Simple Beauty

I totally love this stamp set and think I will get a lot of use out of it – It is the Strength & Hope set from the 2011 Mini catalogue. I used Crumb Cake – again – Night of Navy, Whisper White and Bashful Blue CS, Bashful Blue ink and Rose Red seem binding ribbon. I also buffed a very tiny bit of Rose Red ink into the butterfly. this was finished with a little paper piercing around the scallop circle punched with SU scallop circle punch of course!

Copper Bottomed Finish

This turned out a lot better than I anticipated! I used the Fun Flowers Sizzix die – an exclusive to Stampin Up – and used it to die cut NewsPrint DSP, I mounted it onto Basic Black, Whisper White and again onto Basic Black CS only this piece had been run through Vintage Wallpaper Textured Impressions embossing folder – another SU Exclusive! and gently rubbed it with copper wax to give it a metallic feel before mounting on Whisper White and again onto Basic Back – I added pearls and some ribbon from my – large – ribbon box! Oh and I also rubbed a little of the copper wax on the edges of the flower petals too!

And Finally….

Blue for You

This is another set I think will get a lot of use – This is the Baby Blossoms set and you quite literally make your own blooms yourself – YEP – each flower on this was stamped into parts – the light blue and the dark blue! I also used the frame from the same set to ‘cameo’ the main bloom. I used Bashful Blue, Whisper White and Not Quite Navy CS, Bashful Blue, Not Quite Navy and Old Olive Ink, Scallop Trim Border punch and some pearls to finish. Turned out quite nice if I do say so myself – mind you it took me ages lining things up, then I got the hang of it – all I had to do was follow the shapes but I was a while figuring that out!

Ok, thats me, I do have a couple more cards but will save those till the next post. I am back to work again tomorrow but will post as soon as I can. Don’t forget to subscribe. Until then remember to keep stamping your place in the world!

One thought on “MIA, Paleo Man, Subscribing and Cards…finally!

  1. Susan Moffatt April 20, 2011 / 11:51 pm

    Especially loving your copper bottom finish card! Sorry to hear you’ve not been well, hoping you’re on the mend now. Susan xxx

Leave a Reply

