Oh My, Oh My but it’s just next week! Paleo, Cardio Challenge and Exams – Phew – What a Busy Week!

My head is spinning! I mean literally spinning! I think I am organised but there still seems to be so much left to do! What am I ranting about? My Simply Stamping classes of course!  They start next Saturday and there are lots of lovely ladies coming to spend the morning, or afternoon, with me. It’s really exciting and I so want it to be perfect for them all that I am running around in circles trying to get ready. The scissors and rulers and pencils are packed, the sticky tape, sticky pads, pearls, ‘O’ rings and bling are packed. Technique cards are printed, chopped and hole punched. Recipe leaflets and info-leaflets are printed and ready to go into class bags. I just have the rest of the class bags to fill. I know that I have allocated my day on tuesday to this task but I am still having a panic attack thinking whether I have left myself sufficient time – cos I really want to do some crafting on Tuesday too!  I got some lovely new goodies from SU on Friday and I really want to play with them….What did I get?  Well I got this fabulous new stamp Vintage Vogue which is simply delicious…

Thank you Baja Breeze!

This card features the fabulous Top Note – Exclusive to SU – Bigz die, Vintage Vogue stamp set, The modern label punch (first time I have used this – definitely won’t be the last! Love it’s clean lines) and the rather lovely Vintage Wallpaper – Exclusive to SU – embossing folder, not to mention Baja Breeze, Crumb Cake and Very Vanilla CS with a tiny bit of Pear Pizzaz CS and seem binding ribbon. The flowers are stamped in Baja Breeze and then the edges kissed with a touch of Old Olive – sort of rock and roll technique but slower!  Is this card going to feature in the Simply Stamping Class? Hmmm?! it might…… the next item I have for you will most definitely feature in the Classes (DID YOU BOOK YOUR PLACE? CONTACT ME NOW IF YOU HAVENT!) it’s a simple book mark with magnets inside to hold it in place….

Sunshine Petals

Although a very simple straight forward stamping technique, I think that we spend so much time ‘creating’ wonderful cards that we forget we can create other things – so my ladies will be making one of these in class too! It is made with Pumpkin Pie and Whisper White CS, Printed Petals Stamp set, Daffodil Yellow, Pumpkin Pie and Cajun Craze ink, scalloped circle punch and a little yellow ribbon and an inch of magnetic tape inside. – Cute! although may  change design slightly….

I am really looking forward to these classes, and I hope that each of the groups can bounce idea’s and confidence off each other – I hope I can keep the ladies suitably entertained too!

So Paleo – still at it – still loving it! still only lost 11lbs but at least it is not going back on and my tummy does seem to be going  down round the middle. Where I work we are taking part in something called the Cardio Challenge. It is in conjunction with Nike the sports people. All you have to do is run, walk or crawl in my case, a set distance each week for four weeks and submit your results through an App directly to Nike. So last week my pal Alistair and I did the iWalk – I think it was really a warm up session to see whether we were fit enough for the real thing. We managed 5k brisk walk, straight after a full day on our feet at work!  Pretty impressive eh?  What was more impressive was that neither of us had any muscle fatigue the next day – I was expecting to be on my knees with muscle pain, but NO! I am clearly fitter than I imagined. All those 10k’s and half marathons have obviously left their mark in my muscle memory cos’ I was raring to go when I got back – I am always more ready to go when I have finished than before I start – not sure how that one works out!

Back to next week…..So the Cardio Challenge – starts Sunday and I have committed to doing 40k a week!  Yes – I know, what ever possessed me?! Well, I will tell you what possessed me – Pride! it’s the bain of my life.  In my younger days – not really that long ago – I used to run regularly. In fact in honesty, I stopped running when my Mum died two years ago. Up until then I had regularly run between 30- 50K a week. Not every week if I am honest, but certainly more regularly than once every two years! Now I know that my Mum would be appalled that I had stopped running and that I had stopped right after she died. She had done quite a few competitive races with me including the Bellahouston ladies 10k race, the Lochness 10k and the Edinburgh MoonWalk – this last one whilst dying of lung cancer, although we didn’t know this at the time – she died eight months later. My Mum also stood at the finish line for many of my races, particularly the Polaroid Challenge 10k’s when I was often among the last to come in – she would be there to cheer me on and get me over that finish line at nine o’clock at night! So my Mum would be giving me a right good talking to about now – in fact probably sooner than this. Couple this with my recent fiftieth birthday and that I work with a bunch of athletic young things who all think they are fit. Many of them have opted for the 20k distance. Me? I had to go the extra distance didn’t I?!?! 40k means four 10k’s in a week, or three tens and two 5k’s, or some combination, but it means getting my finger out and actually doing some running! Look out Itunes, here I come for some inspirational music….

And finally, my two sons, six years age difference between them, begin their exams tomorrow. My youngest is in S2 and begins with History, German, Maths, Modern Studies and Business Studies all in one day and my eldest son has two Maths exams over in Durham University where he studies. Good Luck to you both my loves – I know you will both do your very best and have studied hard in preparation. Love to you both xxx

So til next time don’t forget to stamp your place in the world! xxx

One thought on “Oh My, Oh My but it’s just next week! Paleo, Cardio Challenge and Exams – Phew – What a Busy Week!

  1. Susan Moffatt May 15, 2011 / 11:56 pm

    Love that thank you card Lorraine! Vintage Vogue is one of my favourite sets. I got Plane and Simple last week. Haven’t inked it up yet. That could be my challenge for tomorrow. Susan xx

Leave a Reply

