At last….! Some Dates for your diary….Christmas….a Healthy Heart and a challenge

At last! I am sat in front of my Mac and have some time to really BLOG! Get your cuppa organised cos this is going to be a bumper edition! I seem to have been so busy since I got back from my hols – A MONTH AGO! – I cannot believe how the time has flown. I have been busy though I promise, firstly getting the boys ready to go visit with my Dad, then preparation for the two Stamp Camp days which were tremendous and then preparing for the classes which are due to recommence around the 20th of this month.

So talking of classes – some dates for your diary –

20th AugustMore Simply Stamping – venue To Be Confirmed

23rd AugustMore Simply Stamping for the Tuesday Girls! venue To Be Confirmed

3rd SeptemberRetirement Party – this is a last chance to get hold of some Stampin’ Up goodies at a great price before they bow out permanently. We will be crafting too!

1st OctoberExperience Day! – this is the day we launch our new products and you get to play with them straight away!

5th NovemberStamp a Stack – Yes its fireworks night but we will be raising a storm and stamping a stack of Christmas cards, just to make sure that we are prepared!

More details of all these events will be posted out and of course featured right here! Okay, want to see what we did at Stamp Camp? Here are some of the samples we made:

Itty Bitty Baja Breeze

This super simple card is made with Very Vanilla and a little Baja Breeze card stock, Baja Breeze ink, the Itty Bitty stamp set – which was our featured set – Itty Biity punches, Modern Label and Word Window Punches and of course the rather lovely Baja Breeze seem binding ribbon.

Itty Bitty envelopes

This card uses the En Francais stamp which is huge and so versatile – I just love it! We have Pacific Point, So Saffron, Whisper White and Melon Mambo card stock, Sizzix Bigz Scallop envelope, Scallop trim border punch, and it is finished with Very Vanilla taffeta ribbon. The sentiment comes from the So Happy for You Sale a bration set which I am struggling to put away.

Itty Bitty Tropical Punch

This is such a bright card – thought the colours had a very tropical feel! We have Whisper White, Melon Mambo, So Saffron and a piece of Brights DSP card stock in Tempting Turquoise. The ink pads are Tempting Turquoise, So Saffron, Melon Mambo and Pumpkin Pie.The Stamps are Itty Bitty (ofcoure!) and the sentiment is from flight of the Butterfly.

Itty Bitty heart

Another super simple card which could easily be adapted into a christmas card I think! Very Vanilla card stock, Early Espresso and Poppy Parade ink pads, Itty Bitty Stamp Set and punch set, and the sentiment came from the very versatile Heard from the Heart set.

So Christmas…have you started your cards yet? I usually give it a go round about now then taper off until I go into major panic mode round about November! This year though I have been making the odd card or two each month and have a reasonable selection made. We are going to have a Stamp a Stack event in November though for anyone who really needs to boost their Christmas card making. We will have either four cards and make five of each or five cards and make four of each. Watch out for more news of this as we get closer to the date – 5th November! But to keep you going here is what I am currently making:

Oh Happy Tree

This simple card is a CASE from Jenny Moors web site which you can visit here. She does some amazing stuff and I am completely in awe of her creativity. I changed the colours slightly and used Cherry Cobbler and Whisper White card Stock and a little piece of Jolly Holiday DSP with good old Old Olive and Whisper White ink and finished with a few pearls.

Lovely as a Christmas Tree

Pacific Point, Basic Black and Whisper White make this very dramatic Christmas tree card special. I have brayered the Pacific Point onto the Whisper white the stamped the Lovely as a Tree stamp in Basic Black over the top. A white Signo Gel pen has been used to outline the Sizzix Bigx Top Note die cut and every thing has been sprinkled with glitter, naturally!

Contempo Christmas

This card features the Contempo Christmas stamp set and Cherry Cobbler and Whisper White card Stock, Jolly Holiday DSP with Old Olive ink. I also used the Large oval and the decorative label punches and finished with a few sparkles.

I mentioned a healthy heart in the title and wanted to keep you posted with regard to Paleo. I have been doing Paleo for some months now and have to say that I really haven’t felt healthier for a long time. I felt good in my bikini when I went on holiday and have now lost a total of 1 stone 11 pounds in just a little over three months. Although I realise that not every diet suits every one, I really do recommend giving this change in heating habits a go.

To use up some of the new found energy I seem to have my eldest son and I are going to run the Glasgow half Marathon in September. Now in fairness this is not my first time round this particular block – I have done it four times before! But it is my son’s first half marathon. He will do it in a super quick time as only the very young and very fit can do and I will do it at my usual plodding pace with the finish line as my goal rather than a specific time goal – I am not getting any younger after all!

I will be setting up a charity giving site and will post this later – I favour the ones where you can pledge directly to the charity receiving the gift so watch out for that – it will be one of the Cancer Charities mainly because both my Mum and my father in law died of cancer. I hope you will feel comfortable supporting me but will totally understand if you don’t.

And to finish off with – a Challenge! This is the challenge I have set in my crafting group with the other girls from Stampin up – we are trying to take it in turns to set a regular challenge. Here it is:

Use three different colours of blue and a technique from one of the following: shaving cream, marbles or crayon resist. If you are not sure how to do these techniques just email me and I will forward some instructions to you.

So till next time remember to stamp your place in the world! xxx

Leave a Reply

